This pretty much sums me up - quiet and laid back until you get to know me then I'm loud and outgoing.
This pretty much sums me up – quiet and laid back until you get to know me then I’m loud and outgoing.

Well, I did it … I created a blog.  I tossed around the idea for a while and decided that there were just too many good things going on in my life to NOT share it with others.  I will try to post something every day, but with work and school, I make no promises.

I guess to start, we need to go back to the beginning.  I am a farm girl, born and raised.  I grew up on 4-wheleers, playing in mud, working in the fields, cooking/baking/packing lunches for my dad and his hired help, being active in church and picking on my little sister.  From an early age, my parents instilled a hard work ethic and strong morals into my sister and I which have followed us as we have grown older.

As we grew up, we developed our own identities: I was the ‘rebel’ child and she was the ‘angel’ child.  I will be the first to admit that I gave my parents a run for their money when I was growing up, and I regret it to this day: the lies, the stories, and the words that I used to fight come back to me every now and then and all I can do is shake my head in disbelief.  What on God’s green earth made me think that it was ok to speak to my parents like that?  Thankfully, I grew out of that stage quickly and have since repaired my relationship with my parents and my sister.

I graduated high school in 2008 and moved to Marshall.  I started college and thanks to the MNSCU system (heavy on the sarcasm), I completed an Associate’s degree in 4 years!  On top of going to school those 4 years, I worked multiple jobs to make ends meet.  From 2008-2010 I worked as a PCA through the college I was attending, taco artist at Taco Johns and a phone operator at Schwan’s.  The job at Schwan’s and I did not get along very well so I went on break one day and just didn’t return.  I then started working at Super America and fell in love with that job.  But between all of my jobs, I managed to make some amazing friends; only one of which I still talk to on a regular basis.  Towards the end of 2010 I asked to be scheduled full time at Super America and quit my other jobs to focus on the job I loved and my school work. I worked my way up the ladder to become the assistant manager.  There were very few parts of the job that I didn’t like … Including our vendors; but more on that at a later post.

In December, I adopted a 3ish month old St. Bernard/Border Collie/Black Lab mix puppy and named him Hugo.  I adopted him because I had just gone through a failed engagement a few months before and was looking for an unconditional bond.  Hugo became my support system and brought a tiny speck of light to my life when things had gotten dark.  Obviously, being at that point in my life, he got spoiled.  I don’t mean just eat a lot, sleep a lot and get pet a lot spoiled; I’m talking table scraps, laying on the bed with a pillow and blanket, and getting carried around everywhere spoiled.  I should have waited to adopt a puppy because now I’m suffering the consequences of limited discipline.  He’s starting to listen better now that I have Shane in my life and he’s coaching me how to train him effectively but he has a long way to go.

After graduating college and working for a year, I decided that I was only 18 credits shy of a Bachelor’s degree and tossed around the idea of going back to school to finish.  I got accepted to a university about an hour from Marshall and after much deliberation, I decided to go .. TERRIBLE IDEA! Even though I am taking classes strictly online, it is rough.  The professors lack the personal touch to their students, our assignments are ridiculously long and their feed back on our posts have no relevance to the post itself.  On top of school being frustrating, I got stuck with the worst WORST job.  I figured since school was going to be a temporary thing (until about February) that there was no point in trying to apply for a ‘real world’ job until I finished my degree because I do not intend on staying in Brookings.  I applied (and got hired) at a locally owned gas station.  I loved my job at Super America and I figured it wouldn’t be that much different – I WAS WRONG.  The manager doesn’t conduct himself as a manager, conducts shady acts with both his employees and customers and isn’t consistent with his word.  Him and I have had more than one go around about how terrible of a manager he is, and it provided no change for the first couple of months I was there.  But, a job is a job and having that work ethic instilled from my parents, I gave it my all.  It paid off because I recently got promoted and now have some authority to comment on the manager’s actions towards others.  Since I was offered this position and told the manager exactly where I stood, things are turning around.  I’m starting to enjoy work, I enjoy the people I work with and I enjoy the customers.  Baby steps.

Which leads me to where I am today – sitting on my boyfriends couch watching his dog sleep, the cat play and the traffic pass by.  Shane is actually the reason why I decided to start this blog.  He has been so supportive of everything I have done so far and has been such a blessing in my life.  I feel so much love and devotion that I’ve never felt before so I figured what better way to get it out of my system than start a blog? I’m just so full of happiness and joy that I could burst!

That about brings you up to speed.  From here on out, we will take a walk through the different areas of my life, starting with the first engagement all the way up to my new life with Shane!

Leave a Reply

