Memories

The quote “I love those random memories that make me smile no matter what is going on in my life right now” couldn’t ring more true in my life.

While Shane and I already share so many memories in so many places, there is one particular spot that I am reminded of all the laughs, all the jokes, and all of the butterflies in my stomach – the living room.

One of the first few times that we were able to spend some time together, I found a post about messy twister.  Pretty simple – Twister board, paints, a flat surface and willing players.  I mentioned to Shane that I wanted to play it sometime.  When I mentioned it, my thought was during the summer or fall, we could play it outside with decent weather, easy clean up, etc.  To go along with playing the game, I mentioned wearing white shirts so that we could keep them to look back on in the future and reminisce about the things we used to do when we first started dating.  Much to my surprise, one of the first times I went to his house, he had everything on hand – paint, twister, clear plastic and white t-shirts.  I was confused as to why he had picked up clear plastic but as soon as he started covering the furniture, it was clear that he was not planning on playing this outside.

I’ve always been competitive (within reason) when it comes to games and sports… so is Shane.  We got the board set up and  changed into our white shirts and it was game on from the start.  I lack flexibility and I struggle with coordination, add paint on a slippery surface to that mix and it’s not pretty.  The intense game lasted for a good half hour or so before someone fell – and if I remember correctly, Shane was the first one to fall. (I’m pretty sure he let me win..)  We laughed about the game and took our first couple pictures as a couple.  The pictures (one of which is shown above) definitely caught our feelings/emotions – he was caring, fun-loving, adventurous and maybe a little nervous.  I, on the other hand, was a nervous wreck.  It was the first time we had been physically close and I’m sure that he could feel the nerves just radiating off of me.

Where there is fun (and mess!) there is always clean up.  There was no way that the board was salvageable so we gathered everything up and threw it away and then we took showers to rinse off the paint.   While he was in the shower, I was standing around and making sure that there was no paint that got on the white carpet, tan furniture, or the eggshell walls.  I started to breathe a sigh of relief because the carpets and furniture came out without a spot on them… however, the wall ended up with a new paint job.  I pointed it out to Shane and he just shrugged his shoulders with that contagious smile and said “It’s ok, it’s washable paint.”  He went to get a wet wash cloth while I took my turn getting cleaned up.  I came back out and he was just standing in the middle of the floor staring at the spot on the wall.  Turns out this type of “washable” paint isn’t so washable.  I apologized (because I felt like it was my fault and I felt bad that his wall now had a stain on it) and he told me to stop worrying about it, that it was all ok.

Normally, I would be persistent in trying to get the paint off the wall but since he wasn’t worried about it, I was going to try to not worry about it.  Best. Decision. Ever.

To this day, there is still paint splatters on the wall and our paint covered shirts hang in the closet.  Both of us have commented how on days that we miss each other or feel a little lonely, we find ourselves just starting at that spot on the wall.  I can’t speak for him and what he feels when he looks at it but when I catch myself staring at it, there is usually a smile plastered on my face as well.  I feel the butterflies, I feel the sweaty palms, I feel the small panic, I feel the same happiness I felt that day.

Since we have been dating, no matter where we go or what we do, we consistently make memories.  We have also had memories at the dog park and Super America back in Marshall.  The last time we were at the dog park, all I could do was just look at the place on the side walk where we laid and gazed at the stars, stare at the cement block he was sitting on when the story behind my pout bag started, and before we left, we stood in the parking lot and looked across the street at the house that I used to live in – the same path that he had walked me home numerous times after late nights at the dog park.  Shane also talks about what he experiences when he brings product into Super America.  When he walks in the back room and looks at the stack of empty shells, he stalls for a moment and can almost see my phone number taped up there and gets the fluttery/nervous feeling.

As I’m sitting in the living room typing this now, I’ve caught myself looking at that spot on the wall and I’ve realized that I would not trade one single moment that Shane and I have shared for anything.  He’s made me so happy and has shown me that I definitely deserve something as wonderful as him in my life.  I’ve never seen someone for the first time and felt that my future was standing in front of me.  Even to this day, I can’t help but look at him and smile, lock eye contact with him and fall in love all over again.  I still get the butterflies when I drive to his house and I still get the nervous sweaty palms when we are going somewhere together.  I have no doubt that this is what true happiness is supposed to feel like.

Leave a Reply

