Have you ever sat and just thought about what the purpose of some things are?  It’s been one of those days where my mind has done nothing but race.  What is the purpose of all of this snow?!  Or better yet, a single snowflake. 

Growing up, we are taught that each snowflake has its own design, its own look; there are no two snowflakes that look-alike.  Well, let’s just say, when you start to throw tons and tons of them in one area, they ALL look the same.
snow 

While I was shoveling massive amounts of snow off my driveway this morning, I got to thinking “What lesson does God have for me in all of this?  He wouldn’t drop all of this snow without trying to show some sort of lesson through it.”  

Now, some of you may be thinking that  He probably views us exactly like we view this snow pile – one giant pile of tangled, disorganized, purposeless things.   WRONG!  It states in 1 Corinthians 7:7 “..each of you has your own gift from God; one his this gift, another has that.” 

There are no two people who possess the same exact skill, the same exact trait, or the same exact look.  There will always be something unique about you

As I’m continuing to shovel, I then realize that in God’s eyes, even though all of us are piled up like the snow pile, he can distinctly see all of our different designs; he knows every one of our designs.  If I had to guess, I’m the oblong flake with some swirly type of designs coming off of it.  Each swirly ‘stem’ coming off of it represents something unique about me that no one else will have.  Some of the things I thought of were how I constantly strive to learn new things (music, recipes, life hacks, academics, etc.), I hold myself to high standards, I have strict morals, how I can have manners that are close to that of a high society member or as non-existent as an over worked, burned out factory worker, I set goals and strive for them, I tend to give people second chances – even when they don’t deserve it, the different ways Shane and I communicate (body language, actual conversation, little notes, acts of service), I have past experiences that haven’t been so great but that have taught me lessons that I can pass onto Miah, so on and so forth. 

All of a sudden, this cute-little-awkward-looking snowflake that I viewed myself as turned into this HUGE web of curly spindles that were intertwined and looked like a knotted mess.  I’ll be the first to admit that I am perfectly imperfect; and that’s ok with me. 

Now, I’m not entirely sure what my purpose here on Earth is.  To be a mom?  To be a wife?  To open a bakery?  To minister to people through my blogs?  But just like one of those teeny-tiny singular snowflakes, I hold a small purpose and combined with other teeny-tiny singular snowflakes, I can have a huge effect on those around me. 

But my purpose in life is not for me to know.
“‘For I know the plans that I have in store for you’ declares the Lord. ” ~Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

