When I first chose the daily themes for my blog, I figured that finding one thing a week to be thankful for would be a breeze.  HA!

I have been struggling since 6:00 AM to find a single thing that I am thankful for.  Of course things like my husband, my health, my job, my family, my faith; the list is virtually endless.  But it seems that these types of things almost anyone can relate to.  My goal of this blog site is for me to open eyes of those around me to see a different side of things; to see what is there but no one acknowledges.

So this is where I want to take some time to give thanks to those people who bullied me, who doubted me and who didn’t give me a fair chance to succeed.

To those who bullied me in high school:  I want to thank you for helping build by thick skin and my broad shoulders.  Because of you, I am able to walk up to a bullied child or an out-cast adult and offer a supportive hand.  The experience you gave me taught me how to recognize the faces that show sadness, hurt, and frustration as well as body language that mirrors low-self esteem and shattered dreams.  It took years for me to not allow your words to hurt, but it has helped prepare me for supporting my children and the people around me.  It was OK that you poked fun at how “disgustingly chubby” I was leaving 10th grade.  It’s OK because you noticed that I entered 11th grade thinner; followed by rumors of how it happened.  No one would know the truth because no one cared to ask.  If you would have, you would have known that I got sick with GERD and couldn’t eat much most of the summer.  It’s OK that you picked on me for the clothes that I wore, or didn’t wear.  Because by not buying Hollister/Silver/American Eagle/etc. brands of clothing.  By having my parents be price conscience, I was able to be thankful for the things I had.  It was OK that I wasn’t one of the “popular kids” who partied every weekend.  I would have much rather been working or finding my own fun on the farm that I was raised or the farms of my friends.  In the end, it taught me responsibility and work ethic and saved me quite a bit of money on fines and court dates.  But because of you, I was able to experience this, I am now able to help those who are going through it themselves; some of those people even being you who inflicted some of this chaos 8 years ago.
“You shall not take vengeance or bear a grudge against the sons of your own people, but you shall love your neighbors as yourself; I am the Lord.” ~Leviticus 19:18

To those who doubted me:  It is because of you that I am able to set my goals high and strive to succeed.  I love nothing more than to stand on top of the mountain and look down upon the negativity and feed it positiveness.  It has taught me to be encouraging to anyone who voices a goal, to assist them when they need help, and to build up their self-esteem so they know they are worth something to someone.
“But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.”  ~James 1:6

To those who never gave me a fair chance:  I want to thank you for not allowing me to use my skills to their full potential.  I went through 4 years of schooling and 4 years of management experience to be able to use them in a job that I am passionate about.  Because of the lack of ability I had to use them, I was able to find a job that offered me a position where I can not only utilize my skills, but I can strengthen them, I can expand them and I can develop new ones.
“Whatever you do, work heartily…” ~Colossians 3:23

It is OK that each of these situations happened.  It molded me into who I am today and for that I am grateful. It took me up until recently to reach the point of forgiveness for the things that were said or the actions that were taken; from both ends.  Even though I was on the receiving end of the bullying, the doubt and the suffocation, I was also the one always searching for ways of “revenge.”

It wasn’t until I began my journey back into my faith that I found a verse that I rely heavily on, and use when I try to help someone else, that helped me rise above the petty things.
“Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written ‘It is mine to avenge; I will repay’ says the Lord.”  ~Romans 12:19
That’s when I realized that no ones fate is up to me.  My life (and your life) is way too short to be worrying about getting even.  Offer up your struggles in prayers, He will answer them.  He will take care of it.  He will lead you to where you need to be.

Instead, give thanks for the experience that you have been put through, are currently experiencing, or will experience.  It all has a purpose; even if you can’t see it now.

thanks

2 thoughts on “It All Has A Purpose.

  1. Beautiful! I got here through your Harsh Reality Crock Pot recipe and am glad I came to read your blog. Truly everything happens for a purpose it just may not always be ours to see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

