Today has just been one of those days.

I’ve been battling a chest cold for quite some time.  I haven’t been sleeping well, can’t focus, can’t breathe, feels like I can’t do anything.

Today started out rough as was.  I woke up 7 minutes before my husband had to get out the door for work.  That may not mean a whole lot to you, but it does me.  Shane and I have this morning routine where he will get up at 4:45-5:00, let the dogs out, start coffee, come wake me up between 5:15 and 5:30 depending on the morning.  I get out of bed and we have our morning coffee date.  This is our time.  When the kids are here, we don’t get much time to ourselves so we take the opportunity whenever we can get it.  Mornings from 5:15/5:30-6:00-6:15 it is!

Last night, I ended up taking NyQuil.  I didn’t want to but I had to if I was going to get any sleep.  Because I took NyQuil, Shane couldn’t get me awake at the normal time.  He sat and tried until I finally came around at 5:53 AM.  I fly out of bed so that we can make our normal coffee date before he flies out the door.

Then, I made the mistake of laying down on the couch to watch the news.  I was awake when the kids left for school and even had the thought that I was going to get dishes done, laundry folded and put away, the floor swept and mopped and start dusting room by room.  Next thing I know, I’m waking up to a phone call from my school at 10:05 AM.  What just happened?

I bounce off the couch and fly through the shower.  Not only do I have to start getting ready for work if I want to look presentable, I have to try and get laundry done for sure, maybe a start on dishes and figured everything else could wait.

Well, I started laundry which in turn caused my shower to be cold.  The cat peed on the floor….again.  So I spent about 15 minutes trying to clean that up.  Wait. Work.  Finish getting ready for work and realize there is about 3 loads of laundry sitting on the bed waiting to be folded.  Fly through those look at the clock: 12:05 PM.  I look outside and see a semi blocking my driveway.  Yup.  Parked in front of it so no one can get in, no one can get out.  I ask the driver to move so I can get to work and his response was “You’re going to have to wait.  I need to get this food delivered.”  *Sigh.* Breathe, Liz.  You have 25 minutes before you have to be at work.  Fifteen minutes pass, he’s still there.  I ask again. Same response. Thankfully, the house they were delivering food to asked him to move; reluctantly, he did.  Fly to work and be punched in at 12:31 PM.

Just one of those days that seems like nothing can go or will go right.  I sat down at the desk and began to work when I just felt this burden on my shoulders.  I felt like I weighed an additional 50 pounds and that I was starting to crumble.  Only was it then, that I remembered that I hadn’t prayed yet today.  I had gotten so wrapped up into everything that was going wrong, that I forgot to take time for my relationship with God this morning.

I quickly quit what I was doing, and prayed.  Apologized was more like it.  Apologize to Him that, once again, I was selfish and was so worried about the things that were going wrong, the things that needed to get done, that I didn’t even pray for Him to give me the strength to make it through the day.

It’s funny how when you don’t offer up that little prayer, little obstacles get put in your way.  It becomes so frustrating, so irritating, that we begin to stumble and it’s a quick fall into a place where we don’t necessarily like to be.

I never realized how much I relied on those few quiet moments with those silent words spoken between God and I.

The song I picked out for my Theatrical Thursday post reflects exactly how I felt as soon as I prayed and the weight was lifted off of my shoulders.  I just need to take some time, slow down, and realize that I do need Him more than I realize.

Leave a Reply

