Throughout the week, I come across different things that I feel would be great to blog about.  But, of course, when it comes down to sit down and write, I draw a blank as to what should be my topic of the day.

So, I asked the husband what I should write about for my Thankful Tuesday post, and he did a wonderful job picking; however, I’m saving that for next week.  The reason?  He gave me something to write about in answering my question.

Shane is all that I’ve ever looked for in a life partner.  There are just so many reasons that I’ve fallen in love with him.  Things ranging in being able to hold a serious conversation one minute and then diving into a messy game of twister.  But there is one characteristic that I can say that will tie it all together.  He is an active head of the household.

He’s like the living Super Man.  He wakes up everyday at 4:45 AM, starts coffee, gets the dogs out and comes and wakes me up around anywhere between 4:50 AM and 5:15 AM.  (Depending on the morning and how tired I am… maybe 5:30 AM or later.)  He the proceeds to go to work driving truck and delivering products around the area.  Doesn’t sound like a whole lot for you who don’t know his job in detail but it’s a lot of manual labor.  He then comes home after a day that lasts between 10-12 hours.  He then does the dishes, does the laundry, cleans the house, monkeys around out in the garage, fiddles around in the yard, plays with the dogs, and on and on and on.  Add the kids into the mix every two weeks, and he interacts with them as well.

We see in different areas of the Bible what God expects from the head of the household.  1 Peter 3:7 tells us “Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.”  Ephesians 5:25 says “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.”  1 Timothy 5:8 states “Anyone who does not provide for their relatives, and especially for their own household, has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.”

Within those three small verses we see that husbands are to be considerate, respectful, loving, and provide for their family.

Just in that small paragraph where I described Shane, you can see that he is loving and provides for the kids and I.  But what I didn’t go into detail with is his consideration and how respectful he is.

Just to give you a glimpse into how selfless he is, when I found myself in a situation of abuse, he opened his doors to me.  He did not ask for a penny for bills since I was driving an hour to and from work daily.  All he asked was that I helped with the groceries as well as help with household chores.  But the months that I was there before we got married, he respected my space as well as my feelings.  He knew that there were days where I just needed me time.  He respected that.  In most cases, he ran a bubble bath for me, had a book ready with candles lit and he disappeared for 45 minutes to an hour so I could just escape my life for those few moments.

He also listens to me whine and complain about the little things that don’t go right or that are frustrating me.  All while he’s also probably had one of the worst days and doesn’t say anything until I’ve said my piece and he’s talked me into a calm.

He has done so much for me on a personal level.  But, he’s also helped me immensely on my spiritual level as well.  He’s become my rock in many spiritual battles that I’ve had as well as been a wonderful example of Christ’s unfailing love.  He takes responsibility for us getting to church on time and that we do our nightly readings and prayers.

He is just so strong and supportive and doesn’t even realize that he’s everything I could have asked for and more.

Leave a Reply

