One of the biggest things that irritates me about myself is my temper.  Maybe more of my patience.  Not meaning I’m walking around angry all the time but more of the fact that I get so easily frustrated with situations that are not worth flying off the handle for.

And I get mad at the fact that I’m mad.  Then I get even more mad.  It’s a vicious cycle.

Today, for example, I was furious with Verizon Wireless after about…. 5 minutes of using their online chat.

Shane and I have been battling them over one thing or another since I can remember. (I was evening battling them before we started dating.)  We often times find additional charges or changes to our plan that were not authorized.  But recently, we have been dealing with the Edge plan.  (A plan through Verizon that you can get a brand new phone without paying for it up front and it is split up into payments that are added onto your bill; you also get a discount.  It’s pretty impressive actually.)  We were both eligible before we got married and Shane “Edge’d up” when we looked into it and I was going to “Edge up” when we got our plans combined.  I was looking forward to this since I have had numerous issues with my iPhone and just wanted to be done with it.  However, in the midst of all the changing and transferring, my eligibility was removed.  We made numerous calls and spent hours upon hours on the phone with different agents to see what we would do to remedy the situation.  We came up dry.  I got mad.

Of course I got mad.  My phone only works when it wants to.  You don’t realize how much you use your phone until you can’t.  I use it for everything; blogging/checking the notifications, banking, schooling, checking on my loans, social networking, researching different things; the list goes on.

However, I was contacting Verizon last week because my phone completely quit.  I couldn’t do anything.  I was disconnected from WiFi, it wouldn’t connect to 4G or 3G, in fact, it said “No Service.”  So, I hopped on Verizon chat and did some troubleshooting with the agent for a while and we just happened to be making small talk when our issues with the Edge program were addressed.  She couldn’t understand why nothing was done about it before since it was a simple form to fill out.  She promised that she would take care of it and I would see results.  I was impressed.

I went back on today to just check and see if there was anything more I could do on my end and what their system was showing.  BIG MISTAKE.  The agent I was paired up with could not differentiate between Shane’s phone line (who happens to be the account holder) and my phone line.  He was trying to tell me that I was already on the Edge plan and that I needed to pay off $300+ dollars in order to “Edge up” again.  Um.  No.  That’s my husband, not me.  I tried to explain it better (since all I wanted to know was if the form was filled out) in hopes that he would understand; no go.  The longer I sat there explaining the same thing over and over, the more frustrated I grew.  Like, crazy rabid squirrel frustrated; fangs showing, foaming at the mouth, pulling my hair out frustrated.  Eventually, I got tired of wasting my breath (after explaining the same thing over and over for about a half hour) that I asked for his employee ID to leave him a review and logged off.

My blood was boiling.

As soon as the chat was ended and I took a few breaths, I realized that I was frustrated over something so small and so stupid.  Then I started reciting this verse without realizing it:  “…Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to be come angry.” – James 1:19

I often hear my husband mummer this under his breath when something is frustrating him.  He also happens to be one of the most patient, understanding, and forgiving men I know.  I have him to rely on and to help build me up and encourage me, but yet it is so difficult for me to stay calm in situations that try my patience.

Shane really is a living example of Christ’s love and how we, as Christians, should be conducting ourselves.  We need patience instead of anxiousness.  We need calm instead of chaos.  We need to listen instead of slander.

I can only pray that I can begin to show patience and understanding in my character.

“I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.”  Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

