Day 2:
How have you changed in the past 2 years?

Ooooh where do I even begin!  Well, I guess to even try to figure it out myself, I will just put brief descriptions down and you can see for yourselves how much things have changed.

May 2013:
I was in a stressful engagement.  He had moved two hours away to work, leaving me in Marshall.  I was working as an Assistant Manager at a local gas station and was living paycheck to 7 days before paycheck.  I was living in an apartment with one of my best friends and her (at the time) soon to be husband and our lease was about up.  I was in transition to live with a co-worker since I was to be married in less than 4 months and they were headed off to their own apartment.
I had no pets and I had given up my hobbies to work full time (and then some).  I was waking up every day because I had to.  My life was dull and I felt lock in a place where I was no longer Liz.  I had become disconnected from my faith up until about this time.  I had put Him on the back burner while I tried to figure things out for my life.  (HA!)
I had convinced myself that I was living “the life” and found happiness in things that only existed in my mind.  I made the best of what I had and never tried to improve.  I had given up trying in my engagement because I felt that he wasn’t trying to make things work.  We eventually fell apart.  But, I kept putting one foot in front of the other because I knew that something better was yet to come.

May 2015:
I am now married to a wonderful man and living in a wonderful town with our (his) two children.  I work an an Office Assistant (Receptionist, Secretary, which ever you want to refer to it as.)  We live in a home which we are trying to begin the process of buying.  It’s small but it has a lot of potential.  Between everyone in this house, we now have our share of pets.  We have two large pups, a cat, and M has a fish.
Since Shane and I began dating (almost a year ago!), we both knew that this was it.  We were in it for the long haul.  We had grown in our own individual faiths and it had become a common ground for us to build our relationship on.  As we grew closer together, we also grew closer to God.  However, we felt like our church life was lacking.  There were little to no opportunities for the kids to become active and grow.  We decided to find a new home church and found one that we fell in love with.  We have continued to grow in our faith as well as improve our relationship with Him and with each other.
I have picked back up old hobbies that were once forgotten and even started some new ones!  But the best part is that I no longer have to lie to myself about being happy.

30day-blog-challenge1

Leave a Reply

