Day 3: What type of person attracts you?

Well, my husband.  My attraction for him is more than skin deep; and for those of you who know us, you already know that.  But for those of you who don’t know him or us personally, here are a few (and I mean few) traits.

~He is family oriented :  He was raised in a close-knit family and continues to hold that close to him.  He is raising M&M as close to that as he/we can get.  Family is very important to him.  We try to make it to as many family functions as we can and visit as often as we can.  Of course, living around two hours away from either side of the family makes it a little more difficult than we would like, but we still try.

~He is respectful : The first time he met my parents (before we were dating because I was that excited to bring home a decent person) he was able to carry a conversation with both of my parents and shook my dads hand before we left that evening.  He also treats me with respect.  He keeps in mind my feelings and opinions and most decisions are made together.

~He is honest : I never doubted it from the start but time and time again, he has proven himself to be quite a trustworthy man.

~He is funny :  I have never laughed so hard in my life until we began talking.  He has a sense of humor much like my dad; a dry sarcastic humor.  (Which, by the way, is not bad!… and M (son) has started to develop it as well.)  This is the type of thing that I have much appreciation for.  There have been times where I have laughed so hard that I’ve started crying.  There have been other times that I have been laughing so hard that I’ve made him stop at a gas station so I didn’t pee my pants.  It’s been wonderful.

~He is hardworking :  His typical work day starts around 3:00 AM.  He drives truck for a company in town and spends most of his day unloading and loading pallets of product.  He then drives back home and begins to work on things around the house.  He will tinker around until I get home and beg him to slow down.  It’s not that I don’t appreciate his hard work and dedication to tasks, but I feel as if he will burn himself out.

~He is kind :  He has the personality where he would give you the shirt off his back if he could.  He strives to make others happy before he makes himself happy.  He shows a lot of selflessness.

~He has (and uses!) common sense :  This may sound dumb to most of you but common sense seems to be a thing that is severely lacking this day in age.  His choices are sound and I know that he would never do anything to put any of us in harm’s way.

~He is supportive :  Everything that I’ve done or anything that I have been through, he has been by my side through it all.  He never questioned my ability to accomplish a goal and he never left my side when things got tough.  I’m not lying when I say we’ve been through things that could only be described as things that can tear a solid relationship apart.  He’s been my rock.

~He is unique :  We each have these little quirks that we are unaware that we have.  I find joy in his.  The routine that he goes through when he has to get things done, the look he gets when he is determined, the little habits that he has when he’s concentrating, thinking, etc.  Just the little things that I find adorable.

~He is strong :   Physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I’ve never had anyone who could physically sweep me off my feet, mentally swoon me, and mentally be able to process situations as well as he can.

~He’s lighthearted :  We get in these moods (especially when the kids are around) where we just like to have fun.  Family game nights, video games, cracking jokes, just making fools out of ourselves.  He is right there in it with the rest of us… sometimes even starts it.

~He is attentive :  I mean, super attentive.  To the point where when I dug out my summer clothes, I put on a shirt and he said that was the shirt that I wore when he first went to the farm with me (the same day he shook my dad’s hand).  That was almost a year ago and he still remembered.  It’s other things like this that show he really is paying attention.

Those are just a few of the things that attracted me to him.  I’m still finding things as time goes on.  I feel that I should never run out of things to fall in love with.

What attracts you to someone?

One thought on “He Is…

Leave a Reply

