There seems to never be a shortage of negative news headlines lately; earthquakes, shootings, tornadoes, fires.

No matter the situation, one of the first things that we hear is “Bad things happen to good people.”  It sure seems that way.

We focus on the negative, we play the “why me?”, “why us?”, “why them?” games.  In these times, we tend to lose sight of God’s plan for us or for those who are directly affected by the situations that have or are taking place; we aren’t able to see the big picture beyond the tragedy.

Shane and I went and saw the movie “Do You Believe?” this past weekend, and I must say, it tied really well into our sermon on Sunday.

God knows our path’s well before we do.  He knows every challenge, every decision, and every situation that is coming our way; good or bad.  He uses each and every one of us for a purpose, even if we can’t see it actively in our lives.

Tragedy is one of those things that happens in this world that we cannot control.  It is also one of the hardest to see God’s work through.  But somehow, one way or another, when the dust is settled, we are able to see His purpose.

Just yesterday, there was a hog barn fire a few miles out of town that claimed the lives of two wonderful people.   I didn’t know either one of these women, but I work with and live next to a family member of one of the ladies who lost their lives.  She’s such a wonderful person that I can only assume that the rest of her family is that way as well.

I can’t even begin to imagine the pain that this family is going through.  Losing someone so unexpectedly makes the healing and grieving process difficult; there are so many “I wish I would have…”  “I wish I could have…”.  But, God has a plan.  He has a plan to be able to use you and your experience.

Revelation 21:4 tells us “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes.  Death will no longer exist; grief, crying and pain will exist no longer, because the previous things have passed away.”  To me, that is saying that what the World has become, is not what God intended.

He does not want us living a life full of pain, grief, sadness or tears.

He wants us to live peacefully with him.

But, how can we continue life down here when we have suffered a loss, a natural disaster, or a life changing event?

Trust that he will be there to strengthen us and guide us.

Isaiah 41:10 shows us “Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be afraid, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will hold on to you with my righteous right hand.”

“Search for the Lord and for His strength; seek His face always.” 1 Chronicles 16:11

Although going through a loss in the family is tough, we need to remind ourselves that God has now given those who have passed the life that they deserved from the start; no more suffering, no more pain.

To all of you who have experienced something like this, please know that you can talk to me.  I may not know you personally, but if you need someone to talk to, please feel free!  I do not judge and I do not accuse.  I will not give out my number on here but you can contact me through here.  I answer my messages as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

