Does God make mistakes?  Is there ever anything that is does that isn’t quite right by our own standards?

I can’t believe the storm that has rolled in by the name of Caitlyn Jenner.  In case you haven’t heard about it, you can read about it here.  In short, Olympian Bruce Jenner underwent surgery to become Caitlyn Jenner.

One thing that we tell our children is to “always be yourself.”  We have the mindset that if someone doesn’t like you for who you really are, that is not your problem.  There is no need to change yourself to make someone like you.  If you aren’t you, then who are you?

Do I like that I have freckles over my cheeks and nose? No.  I don’t like my dishwater blonde hair.  I don’t like my chubby cheeks and wide-set nose.  But, if I were to change any of that, I wouldn’t be me.  I know M (daughter) doesn’t like her thick auburn hair but without it, she wouldn’t be her – it reflects her personality.  We are each made to be unique.

While I was watching Good Morning America this morning, the story of Caitlyn Jenner was getting more attention than what I feel is necessary.  I looked over at our son who was looking on with pure disgust.

Not only have they been raised to love themselves for who they are, they have been taught to accept others for who they are, but where do we draw the line?  Do we continue to urge them to accept people with open arms or do we set limits when we feel that the actions taken are against God’s word?  That’s the battle I’m having this morning.  At what point can we look at someone and say “That is not OK.”

Being a strong believer, my first thought was “So God created man in His own image; He created him in the image of God; He created them male and female.” Genesis 1:27.  God’s image to me is that of perfection.

While we may not be ‘perfect’ per say, He made us exactly how He wanted us; the flaws that we see in our appearance, the mistakes that we make and everything in-between.  So by altering our looks, does that mean that we are saying that His work wasn’t good enough?  That it wasn’t right?

The words “brave” and “courageous” were the words used to described the new journey that Caitlyn had started.  I just be getting old and less tolerant of the things that the media is focusing on but I guess the words brave and courageous are not the words I would use to describe these acts.

When I think of bravery and courageous acts, my mind immediately goes to those soldiers on the frontlines, the veterans who have served, soldiers in general, not to mention professionals that are in a dangerous line of work; firemen, cops, EMT’s, etc.  Those things make someone brave, not changing your gender because you feel as if you were meant to be a woman.

We sit and wonder what has happened to society.  Why are things going downhill so fast?  Why are respect and common sense lacking in most of today’s children?  Take a look at what our media focuses on: The Bachelorette “bromance” scandal, Caitlyn Jenner, TSA security issues, and unattended children – and that’s all within the last day!

No wonder children get the impression that it’s ok to go against their faith, their morals, and their upbringing.  They are watching things like this happen and begin to think “Where is God in all of this?”  They see situations like this getting media attention and they get the impression that it’s no longer good actions or commendable situations that get attention; it’s the actions that go against God’s teachings.  The more negative it is, the more attention it is given.

I’m sure we are not the only parents who have noticed, but I’m sure we will be among the few parents who will actually address the issues with their children.

Where do you draw the line between tolerance and intolerance?  There used to be a nice shade of grey but it has become more black and white the older I get.

**I’m sure I’ll catch some backlash for this and if you wish to discuss this respectfully, by all means do.  I do not take time to give attention to the negative, so please be respectful.  If you can find a verse in the Bible that points out that God’s work is anything other than perfect, I urge you to share it with me.**

Leave a Reply

